Trending Now

Kalonzo Musyoka ruled out of the presidential race by the IEBC.

From 56 candidates, only 16 have made it to the The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) shortlist for the State House.

IEBC has chosen a list of 16 presidential candidates to advance to the next round of nominations, which begins on Sunday.

40 candidates were eliminated after failing to meet the commission's rigorous conditions, which included obtaining at least 48,000 signatures from registered voters in at least 24 counties approving their presidential aspirations.

Wiper party leader Kalonzo Musyoka, who declared his presidential bid last Monday after missing out on the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition party presidential running mate seat, which was filled by Azimio leader Raila Odinga with Martha Karua.

Kalonzo, who had picked Andrew Sunkuli as his running mate, had even submitted his documents to the IEBC, along with signatures from registered voters, but he was turned down.

Odinga, Running for president for the fifth time, and Deputy President William Ruto, who will be representing the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) in the State House election on August 9th, both made the shortlist.

Other candidates who made it on the IEBC shortlist are; Roots party aspirant Prof. George Wajackoyah, Businessman jimi Wanjigi of Safina, Agano party David Mwaure Waihiga, Thirdway alliance leader Dr. Ekuru Aukot, Usawa party Murang’a Governor Mwangi wa Iria and Ford Asili presidential flagbearer Njeru Kathangu

The number of independent candidates has been reduced from 47 to eight. Gibson Ngaruiya Ng’ang’a, Dorothy Kemunto Nyangori, Peter Mubiko King’ori and Jeremiah Nyaga, Jane Juliet Munyeki, Faith Wairimu Ngigi, Eliud Muthiora and George Munyotta Kamau made it to the list as independent candidates.

No comments